Hey Y’all!!  My name is Matthew Johnson. I am currently a junior at Augusta State University where I run both cross country and track. I see myself as a pretty lucky guy in that I get to do what I love  (run) on a daily basis with the people that I love to do it with. I’m not afraid to fail when it comes to running, I simply just want to get absolutely everything I can out of myself and see how far I can get in the sport.

While running is a huge part of who I am, it is not the only thing that I am passionate about.  My faith is very important to me, and it is something that I strive to live out in my own life on a daily basis. I love pretty much anything and everything outdoors, so when I’m not logging miles, I enjoy fishing, kayaking, and camping/hiking with my dad.  If I’m not doing any of those things, you can probably find me eating, napping, or just hanging out with my teammates.

Outside of being physically active and spending much of my time outdoors, I have always had a niche for writing. I am currently studying Kinesiology, but am looking into studying Communications as well. I thought this blog would be an awesome opportunity to gain writing experience, and I look forward to hopefully being able to share some insight on not only the life of a collegiate athlete, but more specifically, shed some light and knowledge on the life of a long-distance runner.

So that’s me in a nutshell. I’m a run junkie who likes to write and play outside. It’s a pretty simple life, but it makes me happy so I wouldn’t have it any other way. Enjoy!


My name is Kristen Jones and I am a former softball player at Augusta State University and the intern at the PBC Office. I’m originally from Plant City, Florida but have been in Augusta the last five years. I recently graduated from ASU with my under graduate degree in kinesiology with a focus in exercise and sport science. Currently I am interning at the Peach Belt Conference Office and I am also pursuing my masters degree in kinesiology as a graduate assistant softball coach at GRU Augusta. When I’m not in school or hard at work I like to spend my free time fishing or just outdoors in general.

My hope is that through this blog I will be able to share my experiences as I transition from a student-athlete in to the professional world of athletics as well as the coaching world. I believe that if I can give just a few words of advice to help a student-athlete or anyone else who reads this blog then I have done a good job.

Follow Kristen on Twitter (@kjoness12) 


My name is Preston Jones and I am now a junior at Georgia Regents University.  I am a Chemistry major with a concentration in biochemistry and am also working towards a minor in mathematics. However, I enjoy writing and I think writing is something that is underappreciated in the science world.  I like to mix them both and so while most people dread lab reports I enjoy the chance to mix the two things I like to do.

I am originally from Columbus, GA where I attended Columbus High School. Probably my biggest running achievement in high school was placing 2nd at the state meet in the 3200m race. I chose GRU because they offered me the opportunity to run on a good team and at a school that had a focus on science and would provide me many opportunities to succeed.  Since I’ve arrived at GRU, the cross country team has won a Conference Championship and gone to the national meet (first time in men’s cross country history). I enjoy school and my sport; in my free time I am probably keeping my body healthy somehow or doing research in the research lab. I love being able to share my experiences on this blog and look forward to continuing to do so.


 My name is Shanteona Keys and I am a sophomore at Georgia College in Milledgeville. I am a guard on the women’s basketball team.  I have recently changed my major from athletic training to mass communication, so I think this blog will be good practice for my future career. My future goal is to be the next Oprah, but if that doesn’t work out then I hope to be a sports broadcaster or radio personality. I am originally from Freeport, IL., but I moved to Roswell, Ga., when I was eight years old. I am a student athlete in the Peach Belt trying to juggle the busy life of academics and sport while enjoying the “college experience”.


30_KrappMy name is Malte Krapp, I’m 23 years old and from Cologne, Germany. I grew up playing soccer and to me it is more than just a sport, it means the world to me and I could not imagine a life without it. I have been playing soccer as long as I can remember; I started at 2 ½ at a local club team and as I grew older I went on to compete at higher levels. Throughout my life soccer has helped me to deal with several struggles and also functioned as an outlet. To be honest, I can’t remember a day in my life where I did not think about soccer.

In 2011 I came over to the United States to play soccer for the University of North Georgia. I tore my ACL for the first time on the 19th of October 2011 but I suffered three more anterior cruciate ligament tears and had several surgeries. Currently I am preparing for hopefully my last ACL reconstruction procedure.  With this blog I hope to share the experiences I have had since the initial tear and maybe even motivate others who have similar experiences.

Follow Malte on Twitter @mallesavas