Summer Reading List

Kristen Jones

It’s summer time and if you’re like me you probably enjoy spending your free time at the pool or beach relaxing. Just like many other people I enjoy a good book to read to pass the time while working on my tan, or just evening out the awful tan lines I have from softball season (you know exactly what I’m talking about if you’re a softball player). So why not find a book that’s not only a great read but also one that could help improve your sports performance at the same time?

The book that I’m suggesting you get is titled Mind Gym, and is a book that I have read many times throughout my collegiate career. Mind Gym is a guide to mastering and conquering the mental aspects of any sport. The information in the book isn’t just limited to athletics; it can be applied practically to everyday life and even a job setting. As an athlete I continually struggled with the mental aspect of the game especially playing a sport that is essentially a game of failure. Besides baseball and softball there is no other sport where you can fail at something 7 out of 10 times and still be consider a good hitter/player.  

I’m a very strong believer that the mental aspect of an athlete’s game has an enormous impact on their physical performance. How many times have you read or heard about articles where research has been done on different groups of athlete’s who have mental training and how that training effects their physical performance? I feel like I hear about things like this all the time and typically the results are always the same, the evidence usually supports the fact that mental training is just as helpful as physical training. This book will give you first hand accounts from a professional sports psychologist who has worked with many professional athletes in sports ranging from football to baseball and more. Take a chance and check this book out. I’m almost certain you won’t be disappointed and the best news is that it’s cheap!